James Lee Burke
Dave Robicheaux, a deputy sheriff in New Iberia, Louisiana:

The Neon Rain (1987)

Heaven’s Prisoners (1988)

Black Cherry Blues (1989)
1990 Edgar Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1990 Macavity Award for Best Novel

A Morning for Flamingos (1990)

A Stained White Radiance (1992)

In the Electric Mist with Confederate Dead (1993)

Dixie City Jam (1994)
1994 Hammett Prize

Burning Angel (1995)

Cadillac Jukebox (1996)
Finalist 1996 Dagger Award

Sunset Limited (1998)
1998 Gold Dagger Award
Finalist 1999 Dilys Award

Purple Cane Road (2000)
Finalist 2000 Dagger Award

Jolie Blon’s Bounce (2002)
Finalist 2002 Dagger Award
Finalist 2003 Edgar Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 2003 Macavity Award for Best Novel
Finalist 2002 Hammett Prize

Last Car to Elysian Fields (2003)

Crusader’s Cross (2005)

Pegasus Descending (2006)
Finalist 2007 Gold Dagger Award

The Tin Roof Blowdown (2007)
Finalist 2008 Anthony Award for Best Mystery Novel
Finalist 2008 Gold Dagger Award

Swan Peak (2008)

The Glass Rainbow (2010)
Finalist 2011 Macavity Award for Best Novel

Creole Belle (2012)

Light of the World (2013)

Robicheaux (2018)

The New Iberia Blues (2019)

A Private Cathedral (2020)

Hackberry Holland, a hard-drinking lawyer, Korean War POW, progressive Democrat, now a sheriff, in Texas:

Lay Down My Sword and Shield (1971)

Rain Gods (2009)
Finalist 2010 Gold Dagger Award

Feast Day of Fools (2011)
Finalist 2011 Hammett Prize

House of the Rising Sun (2015)

Billy Bob Holland, an attorney and former Texas Ranger, in Deaf Smith, Texas:

Cimarron Rose (1997)
1998 Edgar Award for Best Mystery Novel
Finalist 1998 Barry Award for Best Novel
Finalist 1997 Hammett Prize

Heartwood (1999)
Finalist 1999 Hammett Prize

Bitterroot (2001)

In the Moon of Red Ponies (2004)

Weldon Holland:

Wayfaring Stranger (2014)
Finalist 2014 Hammett Prize



The Lost Get-Back Boogie (1986)

Jesus Out to Sea (2007) [SS]

The Jealous Kind (2016)

Another Kind of Eden (2021)
[sequel to The Jealous Kind]

Flags on the Bayou (2023)

Other fiction:

Half of Paradise (1965)

To the Bright and Shining Sun (1970)

Two for Texas (1982)
APA: Sabine Spring (1989)

The Convict and Other Stories (1985) [SS]

White Doves at Morning (2002)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle