Ann Cleeves
George Palmer-Jones, a retired civil servant and amateur bird watcher, and his wife Molly, a retired social worker, in Surrey, England:

A Bird in the Hand (1986)

Come Death and High Water (1987)

Murder in Paradise (1988)

A Prey To Murder (1989)

Sea Fever (1991)

Another Man’s Poison (1992)

The Mill on the Shore (1994)

High Island Blues (1996)

Stephen Ramsey, an impulsive police inspector in Northumberland, England:

A Lesson in Dying (1990)

Murder in My Backyard (1991)

A Day in the Death of Dorothea Cassidy (1992)

Killjoy (1993)

The Healers (1995)

The Baby Snatcher (1997)

Vera Stanhope, a detective inspector in East Yorkshire, England:

The Crow Trap (1998)

Telling Tales (2005)

Hidden Depths (2007)

Silent Voices (2011)

The Glass Room (2012)

Harbour Street (2014)

The Moth Catcher (2015)

The Seagull (2017)

The Darkest Evening (2020)

The Rising Tide (2022)

Jimmy Perez, a police detective inspector in the Shetland Islands, north of Scotland, in the Shetland Island series:

Raven Black (2006) [review]
2006 Gold Dagger Award

White Nights (2008)

Red Bones (2009)

Blue Lightning (2010)

Dead Water (2013)

Thin Air (2014)

Cold Earth (2016)

Wild Fire (2018)

Matthew Venn, a detective inspector in Devon, England, in the Two River series:

The Long Call (2019) [review]
2019 Agatha Award for Best Contemporary Novel

The Heron’s Cry (2021)
Finalist 2022 Ned Kelly Award for Best International Crime Novel

The Raging Storm (2023)


The Sleeping and the Dead (2002)

Burial of Ghosts (2003)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle