H.R.F. Keating
Henry Reymond Fitzwalter Keating
Inspector Ganesh Ghote, a police inspector in Bombay, India:

The Perfect Murder1 (1964)
1964 Gold Dagger Award
Finalist 1966 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

Inspector Ghote’s Good Crusade1 (1966)

Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes1 (1967)

Inspector Ghote Hunts the Peacock (1968)
Finalist 1968 Gold Dagger Award

Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker (1969)

Inspector Ghote Breaks an Egg (1970)
Finalist 1970 Gold Dagger Award

Inspector Ghote Goes by Train (1971)

Inspector Ghote Trusts the Heart (1973)

Bats Fly Up for Inspector Ghote (1974)

Filmi, Filmi, Inspector Ghote (1976)

Inspector Ghote Draws a Line (1979)

Go West, Inspector Ghote (1981)

The Sheriff of Bombay (1984)

Under a Monsoon Cloud (1986)

The Body in the Billiard Room (1987)

Dead on Time (1988)

Inspector Ghote, His Life and Crimes (1989) [SS]

The Iciest Sin (1990)

Cheating Death (1991)

Inspector Ghote and Some Others (1991) [SS]

Doing Wrong (1993)

Asking Questions (1996)

Bribery, Corruption Also (1999)

Breaking and Entering (2000)

Inspector Ghote’s First Case (2008) [prequel]

Harriet Martens, a detective superintendent in Greater Birchester, England:

The Hard Detective (2000)

A Detective in Love (2002)

A Detective Under Fire (2004)

A Dreaming Detective (2004)

A Detective at Death’s Door (2004)

One Man and His Bomb (2006)

Rules, Regs and Rotten Eggs (2008)


Death and the Visiting Firemen (1959)

Zen There Was Murder (1960)

A Rush on the Ultimate (1961)

The Dog It Was That Died (1962)

Death of a Fat God (1963)

Is Skin-Deep, Is Fatal (1965)

A Remarkable Case of Burglary (1975)

Murder by Death (1976)
[written as Henry Keating]

The Murder of the Maharajah2 (1980)
1980 Gold Dagger Award

Mrs. Craggs: Crimes Cleared Up (1985) [SS]

The Rich Detective (1993)

The Good Detective (1995)

The Bad Detective (1996)

The Soft Detective (1997)

In Kensington Gardens Once… (1997) [SS]

Jack, the Lady Killer (1999)


Whodunit?: A Guide to Crime, Suspense & Spy Fiction (1982)

Crime & Mystery: The 100 Best Books (1987)

Written as Evelyn Hervey
Harriet Unwin:

The Governess (1984)

The Man of Gold (1985)

Into the Valley of Death (1986)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle