Val McDermid
Lindsay Gordon, a lesbian journalist and socialist, in Glasgow, Scotland:

Report for Murder (1987)

Common Murder (1989)

Final Edition (1991)
APA: Open and Shut (1991)
APA: Deadline for Murder (1997)

Union Jack (1993)
APA: Conferences Are Murder (1999)

Booked for Murder (1996)

Hostage to Murder (2004)

Kate Brannigan, private eye in Manchester, England:

Dead Beat (1992)

Kick Back (1993)

Crack Down (1994)
Finalist 1995 Anthony Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1994 Dagger Award

Clean Break (1995)

Blue Genes (1996)

Star Struck (1998)

Dr. Tony Hill, a forensic psychologist and criminal profiler, and Carol Jordan, a Detective Chief Inspector, based in fictional Bradfield, in northern England:

The Mermaids Singing (1995)
1995 Gold Dagger Award

The Wire in the Blood (1997)

The Last Temptation (2002)

The Torment of Others (2004)
Finalist 2004 Dagger Award

Beneath the Bleeding (2007)

Fever of the Bone (2009)
2011 Barry Award for Best Paperback

The Retribution (2011)

Cross and Burn (2013)

Splinter the Silence (2015)

Insidious Intent (2017)

How the Dead Speak (2019)

Detective Inspector Karen Pirie, head of the Cold Case squad in Fife, Scotland:

The Distant Echo1 (2003)
2004 Barry Award for Best British Crime

A Darker Domain (2008) [review]

The Skeleton Road (2014)

Out of Bounds (2016)

Broken Ground (2018)

Still Life (2020)

Past Lying (2023)
Finalist 2024 Sue Grafton Award

Allie Burns, a reporter at the Daily Clarion, starting in 1979 Glasgow, Scotland:

1979 (2021) [review]

1989 (2022)


The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories (1997) [SS]

A Place of Execution (2000)
2001 Anthony Award for Best Mystery
2000 Barry Award for Best British Crime
2001 Macavity Award for Best Novel
2001 Dilys Award
Finalist 1999 Dagger Award
Finalist 2001 Edgar Award for Best Mystery Novel

Killing the Shadows (2001)
Finalist 2002 Barry Award for Best British Crime

Stranded (2005) [SS]

The Grave Tattoo (2006)

A Darker Domain (2008) [review]

Trick of the Dark (2011)

Northanger Abbey (2014)


A Suitable Job for a Woman: The World of Female Private Investigators (1994)

Forensics: What Bugs, Burns, Prints, DNA and More Tell Us About Crime (2015)
2016 Anthony Award for Best Critical or Nonfiction
Finalist 2016 Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle