Marcia Muller
Sharon McCone, a legal investigator and private eye, in San Francisco, California:

Edwin of the Iron Shoes (1977)

Ask the Cards a Question (1982)

The Cheshire Cat’s Eye (1983)

Games To Keep the Dark Away (1984)

Leave a Message for Willie (1984)

Double (1984)
[with Bill Pronzini, includes the Nameless Detective]

There's Nothing To Be Afraid Of (1985)

Eye of the Storm (1988)

There’s Something in a Sunday (1989)

The Shape of Dread (1989)
Finalist 1990 Shamus Award for Best Novel

Trophies and Dead Things (1990)

Where Echoes Live (1991)
Finalist 1992 Shamus Award for Best Novel

Pennies on a Dead Woman’s Eyes (1992)

Wolf in the Shadows (1993)
1994 Anthony Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1994 Edgar Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1994 Shamus Award for Best Novel

Finalist 1994 Dilys Award

Till the Butchers Cut Him Down (1994)

The McCone Files (1995) [SS]

A Wild and Lonely Place (1995)
Finalist 1996 Macavity Award for Best Novel

The Broken Promise Land (1996)

Both Ends of the Night (1997)

While Other People Sleep (1998)

A Walk Through the Fire (1999)

Listen to the Silence (2000)
Finalist 2001 Shamus Award for Best Novel
Finalist 2001 Anthony Award for Best Mystery

Dead Midnight (2002)

The Dangerous Hour (2004)

Vanishing Point (2006)
Finalist 2007 Shamus Award for Best Novel

The Ever-Running Man (2007)

Burn Out (2008)

Locked In (2009)
2010 Shamus Award for Best Novel
Finalist 2010 Barry Award for Best Novel

Coming Back (2010)

City of Whispers (2011)

Looking for Yesterday (2012)

The Night Searchers (2014)

Someone Always Knows (2016)

The Color of Fear (2017)

The Breakers (2018)

Ice and Stone (2021)

Elena Oliverez, Director of Museum of Mexican Arts in Santa Barbara, California:

The Tree of Death (1983)

The Legend of the Slain Soldiers (1985)

Beyond the Grave (1986)
[with Bill Pronzini, includes Quincannon]

Joanna Stark, an Art Security Expert in San Francisco, California:

The Cavalier in White (1986)

There Hangs the Knife (1988)

Dark Star (1989)

Non-series books set in fictional Soledad County, on the untamed California coast four hours north of San Francisco:

Point Deception (2001)

Cyanide Wells (2003)

Cape Perdido (2005)

Written by Marcia Muller & Bill Pronzini:
Sabina Carpenter, a former Pinkerton operative, and her detective partner, ex-Secret Service agent John Quincannon, in late 1890s San Francisco, California:

The Bughouse Affair (2013)

The Spook Lights Affair (2013)

The Body Snatchers Affair (2015)

The Plague of Thieves Affair (2016)

The Dangerous Ladies Affair (2017)


The Lighthouse (1987)
[with Bill Pronzini]

Deceptions (1991) [SS]
[includes Sharon McCone and Elena Oliverez stories]

Duo (1998) [SS]
[with Bill Pronzini, includes Sharon McCone story]

McCone and Friends (2000) [SS]
[some stories feature Sharon McCone]

Time of the Wolves: Western Stories (2003) [SS]
[some criminous, two Sharon McCone stories]

Somewhere in the City: Selected Stories (2007) [SS]
[some stories feature Sharon McCone or her apprentice Rae Kelleher]

Crucifixion River: Western Stories (2007) [SS]
[with Bill Pronzini, some criminous]


1001 Midnights: The Aficionado’s Guide to Mystery and Detective Fiction (1986)
[with Bill Pronzini]

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle