Joyce Carol Oates

Upon the Sweeping Flood and Other Stories (1966) [SS]

Expensive People (1968)

Them (1969)

The Assassins (1975)

The Poisoned Kiss and Other Stories from the Portuguese (1975) [SS, with Fernandes]

The Triumph of the Spider Monkey (1976) [novella]

Night-Side (1977) [novella]

Angel of Light (1981)

The Mysteries of Winterthurn (1984) [3 linked stories]

American Appetites (1989)

Because It Is Bitter and Because It Is My Heart (1990)

The Rise of Life on Earth (1991)

Heat and Other Stories (1991) [SS]

Black Water (1992)

Where Is Here? (1992) [SS]

Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang (1993)

Haunted: Tales of the Grotesque (1994) [SS]

Zombie (1995)

First Love (1996) [novella]

Demon and Other Tales (1996) [SS]

Will You Always Love Me? and Other Stories (1996) [SS]

My Heart Laid Bare (1998)

The Collector of Hearts: New Tales of the Grotesque (1998) [SS]

Broke Heart Blues (1999)

Faithless: Tales of Transgression (2001) [SS]

Beasts (2002)

The Tattooed Girl (2003)

Rape: A Love Story (2003)

The Falls (2004)

The Falls (2004)

Mother, Missing (2005)

Black Girl, White Girl (2006)The Gravedigger’s Daughter (2007)
Finalist 2008 Macavity Award for Best Historical Novel

The Female of the Species: Tales of Mystery and Suspense (2007) [SS]

The Museum of Dr. Moses: Tales of Mystery and Suspense (2007) [SS]

Sourland (2010) [SS]

Give Me Your Heart: Tales of Mystery and Suspense (2011) [SS]

The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares (2011) [SS]

Black Dahlia & White Rose (2012) [SS]

Daddy Love (2013)

The Accursed (2013)

Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong (2013)

Carthage (2014)

High Crime Area: Tales of Darkness and Dread (2014) [SS]

Lovely, Dark, Deep (2014) [SS]

The Sacrifice (2015)

Jack of Spades (2015)

The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror (2016) [SS]

The Man Without a Shadow (2016)

A Book of American Martyrs (2017)

Dis Mem Ber (2017) [SS]
Including “The Crawl Space,” a finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Beautiful Days: Stories (2018) [SS]

Night-Gaunts and Other Tales of Suspense (2018) [SS]

Hazards of Time Travel (2018)

My Life as a Rat (2019)

Pursuit (2019)

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars (2020)

Cardiff, by the Sea (2020) [4 novellas]

Night, Neon: Tales of Mystery and Suspense (2021) [SS]

Babysitter (2022)

48 Clues into the Disappearance of My Sister (2023)

Written as Rosamund Smith

Lives of the Twins (1987)
APA: Kindred Passions (1988)

Soul/Mate (1989)

Nemesis (1990)

Snake Eyes (1992)

You Can’t Catch Me (1995)

Double Delight (1997)

Starr Bright Will Be With You Soon (1999)

The Barrens (2001)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle