E. Phillips Oppenheim
Edward Phillips Oppenheim
Peter Ruff stories:

The Double Four (1911) [SS]
APA: Peter Ruff and the Double Four (1912) [SS]

Peter Ruff (1912) [SS]

General Besserley, retired secret service officer from Washington, now in Monaco:

General Besserley’s Puzzle Box (1935) [SS]

General Besserley’s Second Puzzle Box (1939) [SS]

Louis, a crippled veteran and maitre d’ of the Milan Hotel, and his friend Lyson, a retired army officer and journalist, in London, England:

A Pulpit in the Grill Room (1938) [SS]

The Milan Grill Room: Further Adventures of Louis, the Manager, and Major Lyson, the Raconteur (1940) [SS]


Expiation (1887)

The Peer and the Woman (1892)

The Postmaster of Market Deighnton (1892)

A Monk of Cruta (1894)
APA: The Tragedy of Andrea (1906)

A Daughter of the Marionis (1895)
APA: To Win the Love He Sought (1910)

False Evidence (1896)

The Modern Prometheus (1896)

The Mystery of Mr. Bernard Brown (1896)
APA: The New Tenant (1912)
APA: His Father’s Crime (1929)

The Wooing of Fortune (1896)

The World’s Great Snare (1896)

The Amazing Judgment (1897)

As a Man Lives (1898)
APA: The Yellow House (1908)

A Daughter of Astrea (1898)

Mysterious Mr. Sabin (1898)

The Man and His Kingdom (1899)

Mr. Marx’s Secret (1899)

A Millionaire of Yesterday (1900)

Master of Men (1901)
APA: Enoch Stone (1902)

The Survivor (1901)

The Traitors (1902)

The Great Awakening (1902)
APA: A Sleeping Memory (1902)

A Prince of Sinners (1903)

The Yellow Crayon (1903)

The Master Mummer (1905)

The Betrayal (1904)

Anna the Adventuress (1904)

A Maker of History (1905)

Mr. Wingrave, Millionaire (1906)
APA: The Malefactor (1907)

A Lost Leader (1906)

The Vindicator (1907)

The Missioner (1907)

The Secret (1907)
APA: The Great Secret (1908)

Conspirators (1907)
APA: The Avenger (1908)

Berenice (1907)

Jeanne of the Marshes (1908)

The Governors (1908)

The Ghosts of Society (1908) [written as Anthony Partridge]
APA: The Distributors (1908) [written as Anthony Partridge]

The Long Arm of Mannister (1908) [SS]
APA: The Long Arm (1909) [SS]

The Kingdom of Earth (1909) [written as Anthony Partridge]
APA: The Black Watcher (1912)

The Moving Finger (1910)
APA: The Falling Star (1911)

The Illustrious Prince (1910)

The Missing Delora (1910)
APA: The Lost Ambassador (1910)

Passers-By (1910) [written as Anthony Partridge]

Havoc (1911)

The Tempting of Tavernake (1911)
APA: The Temptation of Tavernake (1913)

The Lighted Way (1912)

The Mischief-Maker (1912)

Those Other Days (1912) [SS]

For the Queen (1912) [SS]

The Golden Web (1912) [written as Anthony Partridge]
APA: The Plunderers (1916)

The Court of St. Simon (1912) [written as Anthony Partridge]
APA: Seeing Life (1919)

The Double Life of Mr. Alfred Burton (1913)

The Way of These Women (1913)

Mr. Laxworthy’s Adventures (1913) [SS]

A People’s Man (1914)

The Vanished Messenger (1914)

The Amazing Partnership (1914) [SS]

The Black Box (1915) [novelization of screenplay]

The Double Traitor (1915)

Mr. Grex of Monte Carlo (1915)

The Game of Liberty (1915) [SS]
APA: An Amiable Charlatan (1916) [SS]

The Kingdom of the Blind (1916)

Seeing Life (1916)

Mysteries of the Riviera (1916) [SS]

The Hillman (1917)

The Cinema Murder (1917)
APA: The Other Romilly (1918)

The Zeppelin’s Passenger (1918)
APA: Mr. Lessingham Goes Home (1919)

The Pawns Count (1918)

The Curious Quest (1919)
APA: The Amazing Quest of Mr. Ernest Bliss (1922)

The Strange Case of Mr. Jocelyn Thew (1919)
APA: The Box with Broken Seals (1919)

The Wicked Marquis (1919)

The Devil’s Paw (1920)

The Great Impersonation (1920)

Ambrose Lavendale, Diplomat (1920) [SS]

Aaron Rodd, Diviner (1920) [SS]

The Honourable Algernon Knox, Detective (1920) [SS]

Jacob’s Ladder (1921)

Nobody’s Man (1921)

The Profiteers (1921)

The Evil Shepherd (1922)

The Great Prince Shan (1922)

The Mystery Road (1923)

The Inevitable Millionaires (1923)

Michael’s Evil Deeds (1923) [SS]

The Seven Conundrums (1923) [SS]

The Passionate Quest (1924)

The Wrath to Come (1924)

The Terrible Hobby of Sir Joseph Londe, Bt. (1924) [SS]

Gabriel Samara (1925)
APA: Gabriel Samara, Peacemaker (1925)

Stolen Idols (1925)

The Adventures of Mr. Joseph P. Cray (1925) [SS]

The Interloper (1926)
APA: The Ex-Duke (1927)

The Golden Beast (1926)

Harvey Garrard’s Crime (1926)

Prodigals of Monte Carlo (1926)

The Little Gentleman from Okehampstead (1926) [SS]

Miss Brown of X.Y.O. (1927)

The Channay Syndicate (1927) [SS]

Madame (1927) [SS]
APA: Madame and Her Twelve Virgins (1927) [SS]

Mr. Billingham, the Marquis and Madelon (1927) [SS]

Nicholas Goade, Detective (1927) [SS]

The Fortunate Wayfarer (1928)

Matorni’s Vineyard (1928)

The Light Beyond (1928)

Chronicles of Melhampton (1928) [SS]

The Exploits of Pudgy Pete & Co. (1928) [SS]

Blackman’s Wood (1929) [with Agatha Christie, The Under Dog]

The Glenlitten Murder (1929)

The Treasure House of Martin Hews (1929)

The Human Chase (1929) [SS] [included in Shudders and Thrills (1932)]

Jennerton & Co. (1929) [SS] [included in Clowns and Criminals (1931)]

What Happened to Forester (1929) [SS]

The Lion and the Lamb (1930)

The Million Pound Deposit (1930)

Slane’s Long Shots (1930) [SS]

Up the Ladder of Gold (1931)

Simple Peter Cradd (1931)

Sinners Beware (1931) [SS]

Inspector Dickins Retires (1931) [SS]
APA: Gangsters’ Glory (1931) [SS]

Clowns and Criminals (1931) [omnibus]

Moran Chambers Smiled (1932)
APA: The Man from Sing Sing (1932)

The Ostrekoff Jewels (1932)

Shudders and Thrills (1932) [omnibus]

Crooks in the Sunshine (1932) [SS]

The Ex-Detective (1933) [SS]

Jeremiah and the Princess (1933)

Murder at Monte Carlo (1933)

The Strange Boarders of Palace Crescent (1934)

The Bank Manager (1934)
APA: The Man Without Nerves (1934)

The Gallows of Chance (1934)

The Battle of Basinghall Street (1935)

The Spy Paramount (1935)

Advice Limited (1935) [SS]

The Bird of Paradise (1936)
APA: Floating Peril (1936)

Judy of Bunter’s Buildings (1936)
APA: The Magnificent Hoax (1936)

Ask Miss Mott (1936) [SS]

The Dumb Gods Speak (1937)

Envoy Extraordinary (1937)

The Mayor on Horseback (1937)

Curious Happenings to the Rooke Legatees (1937) [SS]

The Colossus of Arcadia (1938)

The Spymaster (1938)

And Still I Cheat the Gallows: A Series of Stories (1938) [SS]

Exit a Dictator (1939)

Sir Adam Disappeared (1939)

The Stranger’s Gate (1939)

The Grassleyes Mystery (1940)

Last Train Out (1940)

The Shy Plutocrat (1941)

The Man Who Changed His Plea (1942)

Mr. Mirakel (1943)

Burglars Must Dine (1943) [SS]

The Great Bear (1943) [SS]

The Man Who Thought He Was a Pauper (1943) [SS]

The Hour of Reckoning, and The Mayor of Ballydaghan (1944) [SS]

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle