Gary Phillips
Ivan Monk, an African-American private investigator, in Los Angeles, California:

Violent Spring (1996)

Perdition, U.S.A. (1996)

Bad Night Is Falling (1997)

Only the Wicked (2000)

Monkology (2004) [SS]

Martha Chainey, a courier for the corporate mob in Las Vegas, Nevada:

High Hand (2000)

Shooter’s Point (2001)

Harry Ingram, an African American Korean War veteran and crime scene photographer, beginning in 1963 Los Angeles, California:

One-Shot Harry (2022)
Finalist 2023 Macavity Award for Best Historical Mystery

Ash Dark as Night (2024)


The Jook (1999)

The Perpetrators (2002)

Bangers (2003)

Midnight Mover (2004)

Freedom’s Flight (2009)
Finalist 2010 Bruce Alexander Award

Treacherous: Grifters, Ruffians and Killers (2012) [SS]

The Warlord of Willow Ridge (2012)

The Obama Inheritance: Fifteen Stories of Conspiracy Noir [SS] [editor]
2018 Anthony Award for Best Anthology

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle