Donald E. Westlake
John Dortmunder, criminal master planner in New York City:

The Hot Rock (1970)
Finalist 1971 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

Bank Shot (1972)

Jimmy the Kid (1974)

Nobody’s Perfect (1977)

Why Me? (1983)

Good Behavior (1986)

Drowned Hopes (1990)

Don’t Ask (1993)

What’s the Worst That Could Happen? (1996)

Bad News (2001)
Finalist 2002 Barry Award for Best Novel

Thieves’ Dozen (2004) [SS]

The Road to Ruin (2005)

Watch Your Back! (2005)

What’s So Funny? (2007)

Get Real (2009)


The Mercenaries (1960)
APA: The Smashers (1962)
APA: The Cutie (2009)
Finalist 1961 Edgar Award for Best First Novel

Killing Time (1961)
APA: The Operator (1964)

361 (1962)

Killy (1963)

Pity Him Afterwards (1964)

The Fugitive Pigeon (1965)

The Busy Body (1966)
Finalist 1967 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

The Spy in the Ointment (1966)

Anarchaos1 (1966)

God Save the Mark (1967)
Finalist 1968 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

The Curious Facts Preceding My Execution and Other Fictions (1968) [SS]

Who Stole Sassi Manoon? (1968)

Somebody Owes Me Money (1969)

Ex Officio (1970) [written as Timothy J. Culver]
APA: Power Play (1971)

I Gave at the Office (1971)

Cops and Robbers (1972)

Gangway (1973)

Help, I Am Being Held Prisoner! (1974)

Brothers Keepers (1975)

Two Much (1975)

Dancing Aztecs (1976)
APA: A New York Dance (1979)

Enough (1977) [contains: A Travesty, Ordo]
APA: Double Feature (2020) [contains: A Travesty, Ordo]

Castle in the Air (1980)

Kahawa (1981)
Finalist 1983 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

Levine (1984) [SS]

High Adventure (1985)

High Jinx (1987) [with Abby Westlake]

Transylvania Station (1987) [with Abby Westlake]

Trust Me on This (1988)

Tomorrow’s Crimes (1989) [SS] [includes Anarchaos]

Sacred Monster (1989)

Humans (1992)
Finalist 1992 Hammett Prize

Baby, Would I Lie? (1995)

Smoke (1995)

The Ax (1997)
1998 Macavity Award for Best Novel

The Hook (2000)
APA: Corkscrew (2000)

A Good Story and Other Stories (2000) [SS]

Put a Lid on It (2002)

The Scared Stiff2 (2003)

Money for Nothing (2004)

Memory (2010)
[written in the 1960s, never published]

The Comedy Is Finished (2012)
[written before 1983]

Forever and a Death (2017) [unpublished thriller based on unused 1990s James Bond script]

Other fiction:

Up Your Banners (1969)

Adios, Scheherazade: The Secret Life of a Sensuous Man (1970)

A Likely Story (1984)

Written as Richard Stark
Parker, a cold-blooded professional thief in New York City:

The Hunter (1963)
APA: Point Blank (1973)
APA: Payback (1999)
Graphic Novel: Richard Stark’s Parker: The Hunter (2009) [adaptation by Darwyn Cooke]

The Man with the Getaway Face (1963) [review]
APA: The Steel Hit (1971)
Graphic Novel: Richard Stark’s Parker: The Man with the Getaway Face (2010) [adaptation by Darwyn Cooke]

The Outfit (1963)
Graphic Novel: Richard Stark's Parker: The Outfit (2010) [adaptation by Darwyn Cooke]
Finalist 2011 Anthony Award for Best Graphic Novel

The Mourner (1963)

The Score3 (1964)
APA: Killtown (1971)

The Jugger (1965)

The Seventh (1966)
APA: The Split (1984)

The Handle3 (1966)
APA: Run Lethal (1972)

The Rare Coin Score (1967)

The Green Eagle Score (1967)

The Black Ice Score (1968)

The Sour Lemon Score (1969)
Finalist 1970 Edgar Award for Best Paperback

Slayground3 (1971)

Deadly Edge3 (1971)

Plunder Squad3 (1972)

Butcher’s Moon3 (1974)

Comeback (1997)

Backflash (1998)

Flashfire (2000)
APA: Parker (2013) [movie tie-in]

Firebreak (2001)

Breakout (2002)

Nobody Runs Forever (2004)

Ask the Parrot (2006)

Dirty Money (2008)

Written as Richard Stark
Alan Grofield, an actor and part-time bank robber, in New York City:

The Damsel (1967)

The Dame (1969)

The Blackbird (1969)

Lemons Never Lie (1971)

Written as Tucker Coe
Mitch Tobin, an ex-cop private investigator, in Queens, New York:

Kinds of Love, Kinds of Death (1966)

Murder Among Children (1968)

Wax Apple (1970)

A Jade in Aries (1971)

Don’t Lie to Me (1972)

Written as Samuel Holt
Sam Holt, an actor who formerly played Packard, a popular TV detective:

One of Us Is Wrong (1986)

I Know a Trick Worth Two of That (1986)

What I Tell You Three Times Is False (1987)

The Fourth Dimension Is Death (1989)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle