Eric Ambler
Charles Latimer, a British university lecturer turned detective novelist, in Turkey:

A Coffin for Dimitrios (1939)
APA: The Mask of Dimitrios (1939)

The Intercom Conspiracy (1969)
Finalist 1970 Gold Dagger Award

Arthur Abdel Simpson, a comic rogue and petty crook, in England:

The Light of Day (1962)
APA: Topkapi (1964)
Finalist 1962 Gold Dagger Award
1964 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

Dirty Story (1967)


The Dark Frontier (1936)

Background to Danger (1937)
APA: Uncommon Danger (1937)

Epitaph for a Spy (1938, rev’d ed. 1966)

Cause for Alarm (1939)

Journey into Fear (1940)

Judgment on Deltchev (1951)

The Schirmer Inheritance (1953)

State of Siege (1956)
APA: The Night-Comers (1956)

Passage of Arms (1959)
1959 Gold Dagger Award

A Kind of Anger (1964)
Finalist 1964 Gold Dagger Award

The Levanter (1972)
1972 Gold Dagger Award

Doctor Frigo (1974)
Finalist 1974 Gold Dagger Award

The Siege of the Villa Lipp (1977)
APA: Send No More Roses (1977)
Finalist 1977 Gold Dagger Award

The Care of Time (1981)

Written as Eliot Reed, with Charles Rodda

Skytip (1950)

Tender to Danger (1951)
APA: Tender to Moonlight (1952)

The Maras Affair (1953)

Charter to Danger (1954)

Passport to Panic (1958)