Lawrence Block
Evan Tanner, a government agent with permanent insomnia, in the USA:

The Thief Who Couldn’t Sleep (1966) [review]

The Canceled Czech (1966)

Tanner’s Twelve Swingers (1967)

Two for Tanner (1967)
APA: The Scoreless Thai (2001)

Tanner’s Tiger (1968)

Here Comes a Hero (1968)
APA: Tanner’s Virgin (2005)

Me Tanner, You Jane (1970)

Tanner on Ice (1998)

Matt Scudder, a reformed alcoholic and unlicensed private eye, in New York City:

The Sins of the Fathers (1976)

Time To Murder and Create1 (1976)
Finalist 1978 Edgar Award for Best Paperback

In the Midst of Death (1976)

A Stab in the Dark (1981)
Finalist 1982 Shamus Award for Best Novel

Eight Million Ways To Die (1982)
1983 Shamus Award for Best Novel
Finalist 1983 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

When the Sacred Ginmill Closes2 (1986)
Finalist 1987 Anthony Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1987 Macavity Award for Best Novel
Finalist 1987 Shamus Award for Best Novel

Out on the Cutting Edge (1989)
Finalist 1990 Shamus Award for Best Novel

A Ticket to the Boneyard (1990)
Finalist 1991 Anthony Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1991 Shamus Award for Best Novel

A Dance at the Slaughterhouse (1991)
1992 Edgar Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1992 Shamus Award for Best Novel

A Walk Among the Tombstones (1992)

The Devil Knows You’re Dead (1993)
1994 Shamus Award for Best Novel

A Long Line of Dead Men (1994)
Finalist 1995 Edgar Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 1995 Shamus Award for Best Novel

Even the Wicked (1997)

Everybody Dies (1998)

Hope To Die (2001)

All the Flowers Are Dying (2005)

A Drop of the Hard Stuff (2011)

The Night and The Music (2011) [SS]
Expanded edition (2021)

A Time to Scatter Stones (2019) [novella]

Bernie Rhodenbarr, a burglar and bookseller, in New York City:

Burglars Can’t Be Choosers (1977) [review]

The Burglar in the Closet (1978)

The Burglar Who Liked To Quote Kipling (1979)
1979 Nero Award

The Burglar Who Studied Spinoza (1981)

The Burglar Who Painted Like Mondrian (1983)

The Burglar Who Traded Ted Williams (1994)

The Burglar Who Thought He Was Bogart (1995)

The Burglar in the Library (1997)

The Burglar in the Rye (1999)

The Burglar on the Prowl (2004)

The Burglar Who Counted the Spoons (2013)

The Burglar in Short Order (2020) [SS]

The Burglar Who Met Fredric Brown (2022)

John Keller, a hit-man in New York City:

Hit Man (1998) [SS] [review]

Hit List (2000)

Hit Parade (2006) [SS & novella]

Hit and Run (2008)
Finalist 2009 Gold Dagger Award

Hit Me (2013)

Keller’s Fedora (2017)


Mona (1961)
APA: Sweet Slow Death (1968)
APA: Grifter’s Game (2004)

$20 Lust3 (1961)
APA: Cinderella Sims (2002)

Death Pulls a Doublecross (1961)
APA: Coward’s Kiss (1987)

Markham, The Case of the Pornographic Photos (1961)
APA: You Could Call It Murder (1987)

Pads Are for Passion4 (1961)
APA: A Diet of Treacle (2008)

Fidel Castro Assassinated (1961) [written as Lee Duncan]
APA: Killing Castro (2009)

Borderline (1962, 2014) [short novel & 3 SS]

The Sex Shuffle4 (1964)
APA: Lucky at Cards (2007)

Warm and Willing5 (1964)

Enough of Sorrow5 (1965)

The Girl with the Long Green Heart (1965) [review]

Deadly Honeymoon (1967)

After the First Death (1969)

The Specialists (1969)

Such Men Are Dangerous6 (1969)

I Am Curious (Thirty)5 (1970)

Threesome5 (1970)

The Triumph of Evil6 (1971)

Sensuous5 (1972)

The Trouble with Eden5 (1973)

Not Comin’ Home to You6 (1974)

A Week as Andrea Benstock5 (1975)

Ariel (1980)

Code of Arms7 (1981)

Sometimes They Bite8 (1983) [SS]

Like a Lamb to the Slaughter8 (1984) [SS]

Into the Night (1987) [with Cornell Woolrich]

Some Days You Get the Bear9 (1993) [SS]

Ehrengraf for the Defense (1994) [SS]

One Night Stands and Lost Weekends (1999) [SS]

The Lost Cases of Ed London (2001) [SS]

Collected Mystery Stories of Lawrence Block10 (2000) [SS]

Enough Rope11 (2002) [SS]

Small Town (2003)

Getting Off: A Novel of Sex & Violence5 (2011)

Strange Embrace & 69 Barrow Street (2012) [2 novellas]

Catch and Release (2013) [SS]

Defender of the Innocent: The Casebook of Martin Ehrengraf (2014) [SS]

The Girl with the Deep Blue Eyes (2015)

Resume Speed (2016) [novella]

In Sunlight or in Shadow: Stories Inspired by the Paintings of Edward Hopper (2016) [SS] [editor]
Finalist 2017 Anthony Award for Best Anthology

Dead Girl Blues (2020)

Chip Harrison13:

No Score14 (1970)

Chip Harrison Scores Again14 (1971)

Make Out with Murder15 (1974)
APA: Five Little Rich Girls (1984)

The Topless Tulip Caper15 (1975)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle