John Dickson Carr
Henri Bencolin, juge d’instruction (examining magistrate) in Paris, France:

It Walks by Night (1930)

Castle Skull (1931)

The Lost Gallows (1931)

The Corpse in the Waxworks (1932)
APA: The Waxworks Murder (1932)

The Four False Weapons: Being the Return of Bencolin (1937)

Dr. Gideon Fell, the "old lexicographer" in England:

Hag’s Nook (1933)

The Mad Hatter Mystery (1933) [review]

The Blind Barber (1934)
APA: The Case of the Blind Barber (1984)

The Eight of Swords (1934)

Death-Watch (1935)

The Three Coffins(1935)
APA: The Hollow Man (1935)

The Arabian Nights Murder (1936)

To Wake the Dead (1938)

The Crooked Hinge (1938)

The Problem of the Green Capsule (1939)
APA: The Black Spectacles (1939)

The Problem of the Wire Cage (1939)

The Man Who Could Not Shudder (1940)

The Case of the Constant Suicide (1941)

Death Turns the Tables (1941)
APA: The Seat of the Scornful (1942)

Till Death Do Us Part (1944)

He Who Whispers (1946)

The Sleeping Sphinx (1947)

Dr. Fell, Detective, and Other Stories (1947) [SS]

Below Suspicion (1949)

The Dead Man’s Knock (1958)

In Spite of Thunder (1960)

The House at Satan’s Elbow (1965)

Panic in Box C (1966)

Dark of the Moon (1967)


Speak of the Devil (2008)
[based on 8-part 1941 radio broadcast]

Written as Carter Dickson
Sir Henry Merrivale, holder of one of the oldest baronetcies in England, physician, barrister, and head of military intelligence for the war office in England:

The Plague Court Murders (1934)

The White Priory Murders (1934)

The Red Widow Murders (1935)

The Unicorn Murders (1935)

The Magic Lantern Murders (1936)
APA: The Punch and Judy Murders (1937)

The Third Bullet (1937)

The Peacock Feather Murders (1937)
APA: The Ten Teacups (1937)

Death in Five Boxes (1938)

The Judas Window (1938)
APA: The Crossbow Murders (1964)

The Reader Is Warned (1939)

And So to Murder (1940)

Nine--And Death Makes Ten (1940)
APA: Murder in the Atlantic (1950)
APA: Murder in the Submarine Zone (1950)

Seeing Is Believing (1941)
APA: Cross of Murder (1959)

The Gilded Man (1942)
APA: Death and the Gilded Man (1947)

She Died a Lady (1943)

He Wouldn’t Kill Patience (1944)

The Curse of the Bronze Lamp (1945)
APA: Lord of the Sorcerers (1946)

My Late Wives (1946)

The Skeleton in the Clock (1948)

A Graveyard to Let (1949)

Night at the Mocking Widow (1950)

Behind the Crimson Blind (1952)

The Cavalier’s Cup (1953)

Written as Carter Dickson
Colonel March, head of Scotland Yard’s fictitious Department D-3, the Department of Queer Complaints:

Department of Queer Complaints (1940) [SS]
APA: Scotland Yard: Department of Queer Complaints (1944) [SS] [7 March stories only]

The Men Who Explained Miracles (1963)

March, Merrivale, and Murder (1991) [SS]
APA: Merrivale, March, and Murder (1991) [SS]

Written as Carter Dickson

Poison in Jest (1932)

The Burning Court (1937)

Fatal Descent (1939)
APA: Drop to His Death (1939)
[with John Rhode]

The Emperor’s Snuffbox (1942)

The Bride of Newgate (1950)

The Devil in Velvet (1951)

The Nine Wrong Answers (1952)

The Third Bullet and Other Stories (1954) [SS] (The Third Bullet released alone in 1934 featuring Sir Henry Merrivale)

Captain Cut-Throat (1955)

Patrick Butler for the Defense (1956)

Fear Is the Same (1956)

Fire, Burn! (1957)

Scandal at High Chimneys (1959)

The Witch of the Lowtide (1961)

The Demoniacs (1962)

Papa La-Bas (1968)

The Ghosts’ High Noon (1969)

Deadly Hall (1971)

The Hungry Goblin (1972)

Written as Roger Fairbairn
Devil Kinsmere (1934)
APA: Most Secret (revised 1964)
Written as Carr Dickson

The Bowstring Murders (1933)


Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle