John Harvey
John Barton Harvey
Scott Mitchell, a private eye in England:

Amphetamines and Pearls (1976)

The Geranium Kiss (1976)

Junkyard Angel (1977)

Neon Madmen (1977)

Charlie Resnick, jazz-loving police detective in Nottingham, England:

Lonely Hearts (1989) [review]

Rough Treatment (1990)
Finalist 1990 Gold Dagger Award

Cutting Edge (1991)

Off Minor (1992)

Wasted Years (1993)

Cold Light (1994)

Living Proof (1995)

Easy Meat (1996)

Still Water (1997)

Last Rites (1998)

Now’s the Time: The Complete Resnick Short Stories (1999)

Cold in Hand (2008)

Darkness, Darkness (2014)

  Frank Elder, an ex-cop from Nottingham, now retired and relocated to Cornwall, England:

Flesh & Blood (2004)
2004 Silver Dagger Award
2005 Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel

Ash & Bone (2005)

Darkness and Light (2006)

Body & Soul (2018)

Will Grayson, a Detective Inspector, and Helen Walker, a Detective Sergeant, in Cambridge, England:

Gone to Ground (2007)

Far Cry (2009)


Frame (1979)

Blind (1981)

In a True Light (2001)

Trouble in Mind (2007)

A Darker Shade of Blue1 (2010) [SS]

Good Bait (2013)

Written as Jon Barton
The Deathshop series:

Kill Hitler (1976)

Forest of Death (1977)

Lightning Strikes (1977)

Written as Jon Hart
The Mercenaries series:

Black Blood (1977)

High Slaughter (1977)

Triangle of Death (1977)

Guerrilla Attack (1977)

Death Raid (1978)

Written as James Mann

Endgame (1982)

Written as Terry Lennox

Dancer Draws a Wild Card (1985)