Dean James
Darryl Dean James
Simon Kirby-Jones, a gay American writer who became a vampire in Houston, now living in Snupperton Mumsley, a small village in England:

Posted to Death (2002)

Faked to Death (2003)

Decorated to Death (2004)

Baked to Death (2005)

Non-series books set in Mississippi and Texas:

Cruel as the Grave (2000)

Closer than the Bones (2001)

Death by Dissertation (2004)


By a Woman's Hand: Guide to Mystery Fiction by Women1 (2nd revised ed. 1996)
1995 Agatha Award for Best Nonfiction
Finalist 1997 Agatha Award for Best Nonfiction (2nd edition)

Killer Books: A Reader's Guide to Exploring the Popular World of Mystery And Suspense1 (1998)
Finalist 1999 Agatha Award for Best Nonfiction

The Dick Francis Companion1 (2003)
Finalist 2004 Agatha Award for Best Nonfiction

The Robert B. Parker Companion2 (2005)

Written as Jimmie Ruth Evans
Wanda Nell Culpepper, an over-worked single mother, in Tullahoma, Mississippi, in the Trailer Park mysteries:

Flamingo Fatale (2005)

Murder Over Easy (2006)

Best Served Cold (2007)

Bring Your Own Poison (2008)

Leftover Dead (2009)

Written as Honor Hartman
Emma Diamond, a recent widow, novice bridge player, and amateur detective, in Houston, Texas, in the Bridge Club mysteries:

On the Slam (2007)

The Unkindest Cut (2008)

Written as Miranda James
Series Website
Charlie Harris, a widowed librarian, and Diesel, a Maine coon cat, in the college town of Athena, Mississippi, in the Cat in the Stacks series:

Murder Past Due (2010)

Classified as Murder (2011)

File M for Murder (2012)

Out of Circulation (2013)

The Silence of the Library (2014)

Arsenic and Old Books (2015)

No Cats Allowed (2016)

No Cats Allowed (2016)

Twelve Angry Librarians (2017)

Claws for Concern (2018)

Six Cats a Slayin’ (2018)

The Pawful Truth (2019)

Careless Whiskers (2020)

Cat Me If You Can (2020)

What the Cat Dragged In (2021)

Miss An’gel and Miss Dickce Ducote, two snoopy sisters in Athena, Mississippi, in the Southern Ladies mysteries:

Bless Her Dead Little Heart (2014)

Dead with the Wind (2015)

Digging Up the Dirt (2016)

Fixing To Die (2017)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle