Stephen King
Bill Hodges, a retired detective battling his nemesis the Mercedes Killer, in a midwestern city:

Mr. Mercedes (2014)
2015 Edgar Award for Best Mystery
2014 Hammett Prize
Finalist 2015 Gold Dagger Award

Finders Keepers (2015)

End of Watch (2016)

Non-series crime fiction:

The Colorado Kid (2005)

Full Dark, No Stars (2010) [SS, some criminous]

11/22/63 (2012)
2012 Thriller Award for Best Novel

Joyland (2013)
Finalist 2014 Anthony Award for Best Paperback
Finalist 2014 Edgar Award for Best Paperback

Doctor Sleep (2013)
Finalist 2014 Thriller Award for Best Novel

Revival (2014)

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams (2015) [SS]

The Outsider (2018)