Michael Malone
Justin Savile and Cuddy Mangum, police detectives in a small town in North Carolina:

Uncivil Seasons (1983)

Time’s Witness (1989)

First Lady (2001)

Dingley Falls (1980)

Handling Sin (1986)

The Killing Club1 (2005)

Other fiction:

Painting the Roses Red (1974)

The Delectable Mountains: Or, Entertaining Strangers (1976)

Foolscap (1991)

The Last Noel (2002)

The Four Corners of the Sky (2009)