William McIlvanney
Jack Laidlaw, a police detective in Glasgow, Scotland:

Laidlaw (1977)
1977 Silver Dagger Award
Finalist 1978 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

The Papers of Tony Veitch (1983)
1983 Silver Dagger Award
Finalist 1984 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

Strange Loyalties (1991)


The Big Man (1985)

Walking Wounded (1989) [SS some crime]

Other fiction:

Remedy Is None (1966)

A Gift from Nessus (1968)

Docherty (1975)

The Kiln (1996) [sequel to Docherty]

Weekend (2006)