Denise Mina
Maureen O’Donnell, an unlikely crime solver who is disheveled, mumbling to herself, and drunk by noon, in Glasgow, Scotland, in the Garnethill Trilogy:

Garnethill (1998)
1998 New Blood Dagger Award

Exile (2000)

Resolution (2001)

Patricia “Paddy” Meehan, a crime reporter for the Scottish Daily News, in Glasgow, Scotland:

Field of Blood (2005)
2006 Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel

The Dead Hour (2006)
Finalist 2007 Edgar Award for Best Mystery
Finalist 2007 Macavity Award for Best Novel
Finalist 2007 Anthony Award for Best Mystery

The Last Breath (2007)
APA: Slip of the Knife (2008)

Alex Morrow, a detective sergeant in Glasgow, Scotland:

Still Midnight (2009) [review]
Finalist 2010 Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel
Finalist 2010 Gold Dagger Award

The End of the Wasp Season (2011) [review]
Finalist 2011 Gold Dagger Award

Gods and Beasts (2012)

The Red Road (2013)

Blood, Salt, Water (2015)
Finalist 2016 Gold Dagger Award

Anna McDonald, whose husband Hamish has just left her for Estelle her best friend, and Fin Cohen, Estelle's estranged husband, chasing across Europe, in the Anna and Fin mysteries:

Conviction (2019)
Finalist 2020 Thriller Award for Best Novel

Confidence (2022)


Sanctum (2002
APA: Deception (2004)

A Sickness in the Family (2010)
[graphic novel, art by Antonio Fuso]
Finalist 2011 Anthony Award for Best Graphic Novel

The Long Drop (2016)
Finalist 2017 Historical Dagger Award
Finalist 2018 Thriller Award for Best Novel

The Less Dead (2020)

Rizzio (2021) [novella]

Three Fires (2023)

The Second Murderer: A Philip Marlowe Novel (2023) [review]

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle