Howard Owen
A family saga of farmer Littlejohn McCain and later his willful prodigal daughter, Georgia, in Scotland County, North Carolina:

Littlejohn (1992)

Rock of Ages (2006)

Willie Black, mixed-race reporter in Richmond, Virginia:

Oregon Hill (2012)
2012 Hammett Prize

The Philadelphia Quarry (2013)

Parker Field (2014)

The Bottom (2015)

Grace (2016)

The Devil’s Triangle (2017)

Non-series thrillers and suspense:

Turn Signal (2004)

The Reckoning (2010)

Annie’s Bones (2018)

Other fiction:

Fat Lightning (1994)

Answers to Lucky (1996)

The Measured Man (1997)

Harry and Ruth (2000)

The Rail (2002)