John R. Riggs
Garth Ryland, a newspaper reporter in Oakalla, Wisconsin:

The Last Laugh (1984)

Let Sleeping Dogs Lie (1986)

The Glory Hound (1987)

The Hunting Ground (1987)

Haunt of the Nightingale (1988)

Wolf in Sheep's Clothing (1989)

One Man's Poison (1991)

Dead Letter (1992)

A Dragon Lives Forever (1992)

Cold Hearts and Gentle People (1994)

Killing Frost (1995)

Snow on the Roses (1996)

He Who Waits (1997)

The Lost Scout (1998)

Nothin’ Short of Dyin’ (2011)