Colin Watson
Walter Purbright, a police inspector in England, in the Flaxborough Chronicles:

Coffin Scarcely Used (1958)

Bump in the Night (1960)

Hopjoy Was Here (1962)
Finalist 1962 Gold Dagger Award

Lonelyheart 4122 (1967)
Runner-Up 1967 Gold Dagger Award

Charity Ends at Home (1968)

Just What the Doctor Ordered (1969)
APA: The Flaxborough Crab (1969)
Finalist 1969 Gold Dagger Award

Broomsticks Over Flaxborough (1972)
APA: Kissing Covens (1972)

Six Nuns and a Shotgun (1975)
APA: The Naked Nuns (1975)

It Shouldn’t Happen to a Dog (1977)
APA: One Man’s Meat (1977)

Blue Murder (1979)

Plaster Sinners (1980)

Whatever’s Been Going on at Mumblesby? (1982)


The Puritan (1966)