Dan Wells
John Wayne Cleaver, a teenager obsessed with serial killers and trying to avoid becoming one, in Clayton County, North Dakota:

I Am Not a Serial Killer (2009)

Mr. Monster (2010)

I Don’t Want To Kill You (2011)

Other fiction, the Partials horror-fantasy series:

Isolation (2012) [prequel novella ebook]

Partials (2012)

Fragments (2013)

Ruins (2014)

Non-series horror:

The Hollow City (2012)